The Industrial Welfare Commission may issue work orders authorizing the commencement of a meal after 6 hours of work if the Commission determines that the order is consistent with the health and welfare of the workers concerned. While many states have labor regulations that determine the timing and duration of meal breaks that must be granted to employees, the Ohio government has no such laws. Therefore, unless otherwise required by state law, meal breaks are provided at the discretion of the employer. Ohio labor laws do not require employers to give breastfeeding mothers breaks to express their breast milk. However, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act requires certain employees to provide non-exempt breastfeeding mothers with reasonable rest periods for expressing milk for one (1) year after the birth of a child and private rooms, other than a bathroom, to express breast milk. Ohio does not require employers to offer breaks, including lunch breaks, to employees eighteen (18) years of age or older. An employer who chooses to take a break of more than twenty (20) minutes does not have to pay wages for lunch breaks or other breaks if the employee can leave the site, actually takes his lunch or break, and the employee does not actually do any work. Under federal law, breaks of twenty (20) minutes or less must generally be paid. DOL: Breaks and meal times. 15 minutes break for 4 to 6 consecutive hours or a 30-minute break for more than 6 consecutive hours. If an employee works 8 consecutive hours or more, the employer must provide a 30-minute break and an additional 15-minute break for each additional 4 consecutive hours of work. 4/ California law also exempts construction workers, commercial drivers, private security guards, and public service employees if the workers are subject to a valid collective bargaining agreement that governs workers` wages, hours, and working conditions, and expressly provides for meal times for those employees, final and binding arbitration of disputes over the application of meal time provisions, premium rates of pay for all meals worked. Overtime and a regular hourly wage of at least 30% above the state minimum wage rate.

30 minutes of lunch for employees working shifts longer than 6 hours, extending into lunch time. For the avoidance of doubt, a retail business is an employer whose primary purpose is to sell goods to a consumer, with the consumer present at the retail establishment at the time of sale, and does not include restaurants or wholesalers. This Act applies only to employers who work in a retail business (or who own retail establishments with the same business name) with 50 or more retail employees for each business day in each of the 20 or more calendar weeks of the current calendar year or the preceding calendar year. Uniform application to all workers except the employer of an approved health facility or an employer that employs fewer than three people per shift. Enough unpaid time for employees who work 8 consecutive hours or more. Rest periods of less than 20 minutes cannot be counted towards total working time. 1/2 hour at some point after the first 2 hours and before the last 2 hours for employees who work 7 1/2 consecutive hours or more. There is an exception that allows an employee to take a legally required break, and that is through the Breastfeeding Mothers Breaks Act, 2010.

This law requires an employer not only to give new mothers a break, but also to provide a private room for them to express their breast milk during the working day. According to the Ohio State Bar Association, jury duty is issued by subpoena from the court. If you decide not to appear to serve on a jury, a warrant for your arrest will be issued. Ohio state law requires an employer to grant leave to an employee to fulfill his or her jury duty. An employer cannot force an employee to use vacation or other paid leave to perform jury duty. Ohio courts pay for jury duty, though the amounts are not significant. Although they vary, some courts pay as little as $20 per day for jury duty. At the federal level, you receive $40 per day, and that amount increases to $50 if you are a juror for more than 10 days. (d) Hourly workers may work overtime only with the express consent of their supervisor. Legal overtime cannot be waived by agreement between the employer and the employee.

The supervisor is responsible for ensuring that the employee does not work overtime unless explicitly authorized.